New Artist Statement….

My work explores ideas of masculinity and femininity in relation to myself, what these ideas represent, the differences between them and the dichotomies used to understand them. I feel that I am representing my own masculine and feminine dichotomies, my own struggle to express, but also hide particular qualities of my nature and personality.

I want to show the struggle of the inner and outer; inner being who I am; my feminine qualities and outer being how I believe I should act and how I wish I was.

I’ve decided to focus on masculine and feminine because that is how I understand and categorise the emotions, traits, feelings and roles that I wish to explore.

Firstly, I would like to explain how I see masculinity and femininity particularly within myself. Masculinity is logical, strong, straight, bold, fierce, sharp, hard, confident and brave. Femininity is erratic, changeable, delicate, touchy, gentle, sentimental, overwhelmed, and expressive.
Several points have brought me to this subject; my problems with anxiety and depression make me feel weak when compared to the strong, straight forward, brave way of my immediate micro society imposes on nearly every aspect of me. How I have seen and understood my parents; my mother was intuitive and changeable, and my father being logical and strong. And finally how the outside world can make me feel; I feel contained and restrained by how I feel I should act and how I feel others should see me.

In exploring this subject the focus on clothes and fabric is important, as they represent, or at least give clues to the inner and the outer. Deconstructing clothes takes away the form and meaning of the garment, leaving just the fabric and the masculine and feminine qualities they represent.

I have attempted to resolve my issues in exploring the masculine and feminine dichotomies by ordering this bundled confusion of ideas and objects into three streams of work. The Frames represent the soft, vulnerable interior contained by the strong outer, the silk organza is imposed by the embroidered dominant word. The Collages are a story-board of tactile adjectives and comparisons; I wanted to show how I feel contained, squashed and under expressed by the logical, concise, masculine nature. The Ties are my attempt to bring a more my own feminine side to a distinctively masculine piece of clothing.

The American artist Mike Kelley has inspired me with his work in the late 80’s, with his collages of stuffed animals and second hand fabrics. He describes these assemblage sculptures as ‘craft’; emphasising the time invested in each piece and thereby his disparagement of masculine art. Each piece is heavily instilled with emotion and history. Tracy Emin and Peter Hobbs use text and sexual ideas and imagery to show power and domination. My images; screen printed and embroidered on my ties are based from my original investigations on fetish and the body, through which I see myself attempting to be stronger and bolder than I feel. I also drew from Peter Hobbs’ essay The Sewing Machine Desire that talks about making objects that disturb or contradict our conventional ideas of masculinity.

I want to represent different roles, attitudes and ideals our society has on masculinity and femininity, as well as the combination of my struggle to show who I am, who I want to be and how I want to be seen.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

